“Here Comes the Reign” has been the slogan for this year’s cross country family. Yesterday, the saying proved quite true. Both the boys and the girls teams were crowned AVCTL Division 3 League Champions at the meet held at Wall Park in McPherson. Curtis Morgan was voted Coach of the Year by the other coaches of the league.

Leading their teams were junior Emma Willison and freshmen Tanner Lindahl, who each finished in second place. Lindahl had a personal record with a time of 16:17.9. Willison ran a 20:51.0.

For the girls, First Team All-League honors went to Willison; Amaleigh Mattison, soph., 3rd place; and Iris Rees, sr., 7th place. Second Team members were Jayla Gore, soph., 9th place; and Megan Miller, sr., 11th place.

For the boys, First Team All-League honors went to Lindahl and Rand Lohrentz, sr., who placed 7th. Second Team All-League recognition went to Cordel Hendrickson, soph., 10th place;  Hayden Keller, fr., 11th place; and Ryan Neill, sr., in 14th place.

Rainy conditions earlier in the week had prompted a change in venue from the normal hilly golf course to the flat park terrain. Race day temperatures were in the low 50s and the ground was muddy in spots along the course.

Next up will be Regionals on Oct. 20.

(Photo by Cassidy Nadeau-Martens)